The global body for professional accountants

Related Links

Winners of this year’s prestigious scholarship have been announced

Five winners from across three continents have won this year’s Simpson Scholarship which gives a helping hand with expenses to gain the ACCA Qualification.

The winners will have their exam fees, annual student fees, and membership admission fees paid for them by the scholarship fund for up to five years, or until ACCA membership is achieved, whichever happens sooner.  

The 2014 winners are:

  • Muhammad Ahsan Bajwa – Pakistan
  • Hiral Velji – Kenya
  • Anastasia Chueva – Russia
  • Abin Yesudas – India
  • Ato Kwamina Buabeng Ghansah – Ghana

‘Candidates for the scholarship are decided on based on their understanding of ACCA’s core values of opportunity, diversity and integrity,’ said Alan Hatfield, ACCA director – learning.

‘They also have to show they would put this into practice as an ACCA student. Innovation in accounting and advancing the profession were also key to the success of the applicants. 

‘The hard work and dedication these scholarship winners have shown in their studies to achieve the ACCA Qualification will hopefully be boosted by the scholarship – and this support will lead them on to a successful career in the accountancy profession.’ 

For the chance to be awarded the scholarship, applicants had to have excelled in the exams they had already sat, and submitted a 1,000-word essay on how the scholarship would help them achieve their full potential.

The Simpson Scholarship has been running in its current form since 2008. ACCA Fellow, Muriel Simpson, who left the remains of her finances in her will to ACCA in 1977, requested it run a scholarship to recognise the achievements of high-calibre students.

Last updated: 10 Jul 2014