Five winners from across three continents have won this year’s Simpson Scholarship which gives a helping hand with expenses to gain the ACCA (the Association of Chartered Certified Accountants) Qualification. 

The winners will have their exam fees, annual student or affiliate fees, and membership admission fees paid for them by the scholarship fund for up to five years, or until ACCA membership is achieved, whichever happens sooner. BPP Learning Media, ACCA’s Platinum Approved Learning Partner (content), is also providing them with study materials for every ACCA paper they are studying.

The 2012 winners are: 

  • Mr Goodluck Kewe - Kenya
  • Mr Tiam Loong Tan - Malaysia
  • Mr Kasirye Moses Sendagire - Uganda
  • Miss Shahlimar Omar Shah - Pakistan
  • Ms Borana Puto - Bulgaria

Alan Hatfield, director-learning at ACCA, said: “The talent of our scholarship winners is just outstanding. They have put in a lot of hard work into gaining their ACCA qualifications and the boost of the scholarship should hopefully help them to achieve it and lead to a fulfilling and successful career in the accountancy profession.

“The successful candidates showed they understood ACCA’s public value agenda and the role they can play. Judges also wanted to see that candidates understood and would exemplify ACCA’s core values such as opportunity, diversity and integrity. Innovation in accounting and advancing the profession were also key to the success of applicants.

“The judges were particularly impressed by candidates who have clear agendas to give something back to their communities and countries, especially where they have clear goals and plans. This helped to differentiate the applicants.

“It never ceases to amaze me the calibre of the applicants year on year. The decision was hard to make, but I wish all our applicants the very best in their future endeavours.”

For the chance to be awarded the scholarship, applicants had to have excelled in the exams they had already sat, and submitted a 1000-word essay on how the scholarship would help them achieve their full potential.

The Simpson Scholarship has been running in its current form since 2008. ACCA Fellow, Muriel Simpson, who left the remains of her finances in her will to ACCA in 1977, requested it run a scholarship to recognise the achievements of high-calibre students.

Last year’s winners came from China, Malta, Nigeria, Russia and the UK. Since 2008, the Simpson Scholarship has helped 25 ACCA students, from 17 different countries. 


Last updated: 25 Jul 2012