The Certified Internal Auditor® (CIA®) designation is provided by our internationally respected learning partners, the Institute of Internal Auditors (IIA). 


  • Develop your internal audit expertise 
  • Build up your knowledge of international audit standards 
  • Add these specialist, highly sought-after skills to your knowledge base
  • Become the trusted expert in your organisation
  • Gain an internationally recognised certification.

How it works

You can take up to four years to complete all three elements of the exam, in any order you choose.

There are three parts to the exam:

  • Part one: Internal audit basics
  • Part two: internal audit practice
  • Part three: Internal audit knowledge elements.

What you'll learn

The CIA programme will enhance your knowledge about:

  • Business continuity
  • Organisational risk, fraud, control and governance 
  • International Standards for the Professional Practice of Internal Auditing
  • Mandatory guidance under the International Professional Practices Framework (IPPF)
  • Tools and techniques for managing an internal audit project
  • Management and leadership principles.

How to apply

We've teamed up with the IIA to offer you a smoother application process.

Our members won't need to show evidence of education and work experience, because it is verified with your membership. 

Please note: prices may vary in some countries. Visit the IIA website for conditions.

About the IIA

The Institute of Internal Auditors (IIA) is the acknowledged global leader of the internal audit profession and sets the standards for the audit profession. 

Please note: prices may vary in some countries. Visit the IIA website for conditions.

Meet the internal auditors

Richard Tan and Helen Li are ACCA members who have also completed the CIA exam.

Read their profiles and advice