

Technical factsheet

Visiting the UK or EU during the transition period and beyond

Visiting the UK on an EU passport

Transition period and beyond

On 31 January 2020 the UK will formally leave the EU and enter a transition period until 31 December 2020. During this period, EU citizens will be able to travel and visit the UK on the same terms as pre-Brexit travel. During the transition period visitors will not need to meet any additional requirements for remaining period of validity on passports. However, visitors must ensure passports are valid for the entire period of travel.

Visitors should be aware that the UK government has advised that EAA identity cards will be phased out for travel to the UK throughout 2020. Guidance states that those with an EAA identity card needing to apply for a passport will be given time to do so.

The terms upon which EU citizens are able to visit the UK after 31 December 2020 may be affected by the final agreement between the EU and UK.

No deal

The UK government has stated that upon the UK's exit from the EU with no deal, EU nationals would be treated in the same manner as third-country migrants and tourists. However, there is currently no intention to enforce visitors' visas for EU tourists, on the basis of a reciprocal arrangement with the EU.

Irish citizens (Northern Ireland and Republic of Ireland) would have the continued right to enter and remain in the UK and would not need to take any steps to protect their status. Reciprocal rights to work, study and vote in the UK are expected.

Visiting the EU on a UK passport

Transition period and beyond

As above, during the transition period UK citizens will be able to travel and visit EU member states on the same terms as pre-Brexit travel. European Healthcare Insurance Cards will also remain valid during this period.

The terms upon which UK citizens are able to visit an EU member state after 31 December 2020 may be affected by the final agreement between the EU and UK.

No deal

The majority of EU countries are within the Schengen area (bit.ly/eu-schen). As the UK is not, in the event of a no deal scenario, UK passport holders would become third-country citizens, meaning that their passports will need to have been issued within the past 10 years and have at least six months' validity remaining.

Visa free travel would be allowed for up to 90 days in a 180 day period in Schengen countries. This will include non-Schengen EU countries (Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus and Romania) as the same rules are applied at their external borders.

Do check the list of Schengen countries, as non-Schengen EU countries would also treat UK nationals as 'third country' and may have different entry requirements.

Issued January 2020

ACCA LEGAL NOTICE

This technical factsheet is for guidance purposes only. It is not a substitute for obtaining specific legal advice. While every care has been taken with the preparation of the technical factsheet, neither ACCA nor its employees accept any responsibility for any loss occasioned by reliance on the contents.