ACCA apprenticeships in Scotland

The apprenticeships landscape in Scotland

The introduction of the Apprenticeship Levy in April 2017 and the growing focus on apprenticeships reflect the government’s stated commitment to improving the skills base within the UK economy, and to providing a viable alternative to university education.

There are currently 80 apprenticeship frameworks in Scotland - Foundation, Modern, Technical and Professional - serving around 26,000 students each year. The Modern Apprenticeship framework, which predates both the Technical and Professional frameworks, requires the delivery of a relevant qualification, core skills and industry-specific training.

The products

There are three ACCA apprenticeship schemes available to employers in Scotland through Skills Development Scotland:

Level 2 Modern Apprenticeship in Accounting

Designed to develop people for roles as accounts assistant, cashier, credit control clerk, finance assistant, purchase ledger clerk or sales ledger clerk.

Level 3 Modern Apprenticeship in Accounting

Designed to develop people for roles as training accounting technician or assistant accountant.

Level 4 Modern Apprenticeship in Accounting

Designed to develop people for roles as qualified accounting technician or accounts manager.

Attract and develop talent

For business owners and managers, these schemes offer a way to attract, engage, motivate, develop and retain skilled employees - the kind of people who will help you to drive your business forward.

We have partnered with government, industry bodies and training providers to develop a range of qualifications that provide a high-quality foundation in accounting, finance and business.

They will enable your employees to develop practical skills as well as technical knowledge, and enhance their ability to contribute to your business - both during and after the apprenticeship.

Option of FMA certification

Both the ACCA Level 2 and Level 3 Modern Apprenticeships in Accounting allow apprentices to take the ACCA Certificate in Financial and Management Accounting as an option.

Level 4 apprenticeship modules

The ACCA Level 4 Modern Apprenticeship in Accounting, which offers the same level of qualification as a Technical Apprenticeship (SVQ8), focuses on three core modules:

  • Accountant in Business
  • Financial Accounting
  • Management Accounting

Level 4 apprentices have the option to take our Diploma in Accounting and Business.

Professionalism module

Apprentices will also take ACCA’s Foundations in Professionalism online module. This will help them develop their understanding of what it means to act professionally and ethically in the work they carry out.