Related Links

Exemptions let you start your studies at a level that is consistent with the knowledge and skills gained from prior learning. They provide you with the quickest route to ACCA membership.

What exemptions are available?

A maximum of nine exams at the Fundamentals level of the ACCA Qualification can be awarded. We do not award any exemptions at the Professional level.

Exemptions are also available for the Foundation Level qualifications.

No exemptions are awarded from any of the exams or modules examined within our post-professional qualifications.

No exemptions are awarded from the ACCA Qualification on the basis of work experience.

Use our Exemptions calculator to find out if you can apply for any exemptions.

How to claim exemptions

What you need to do to claim exemptions depends on where you are on your ACCA student journey.

You can use our tool to answer a few questions and get step-by-guidance on what you need to do.

Get exam exemptions guidance.

When can I claim exemptions?

If you've gained additional qualifications after registering as a student, you may be eligible to claim further exemptions. You can apply for these at any time.

Should I claim my exemptions?

Exemptions stop you from having to study the same topics that you've already been taught. This is great if you've recently achieved a qualification, as it's still fresh in your mind.

However, if you're thinking of claiming an ACCA exemption based on qualifications you gained years ago, or you've been working in a field other than accountancy for some time, you may need to take the exam.

Studying for the exam will allow you to refresh your knowledge and ensure you're sufficiently prepared for the higher level exams, which go into topics in greater depth.

If you're not sure whether to apply for an exemption, you could use our study support resources finder to access CBE and past exam papers and test your knowledge. 

If you're not confident you could pass the exam right now, you should study for and take that the exam.

Oxford Brookes BSc in Applied Accounting

If you intend to complete the BSc degree in Applied Accounting, Oxford Brookes University gives credit for exemptions awarded to ACCA students for any of the Fundamental level exams F1 to F6.

However, a student must sit and pass the ACCA Fundamentals exams F7, F8 and F9 to be eligible for the BSc degree.

Oxford Brookes is not able to give credit for exemptions based on qualifications gained more than 10 years ago.

Paying for exemptions

There is a fee payable for each exemption you claim. If you're claiming your exemption(s), you'll need to pay for each one within 30 days of notifying us.

View and pay for exemptions via myACCA.

View our price list for details of current fees and charges.

Last updated: 1 May 2018