There are several different types of national qualifications and certifications that might support your career in the United States in addition to your ACCA qualification. 

Certified Public Accountant Exam (CPA)

Awarding body: Individual U.S. State Boards of Accountancy

The CPA is the most popular qualification in the USA for professional accountants and many of our members have sat and passed the CPA. However, ACCA does not have a mutual recognition agreement with the National State Boards of Accountancy and AICPA, and the state laws of accountancy require 150 hours of education from a degree-granting institution in order to sit the CPA.

For members with advanced degrees, you should not have an issue sitting the exam as long as you have 150 hours of credit with a certain amount of credits in accounting and business. For members with only ACCA as their main education, you will need to obtain those credits from a college or university. ACCA USA has developed a collaboration with Northern Virginia Community College (NOVA) in order to help our membership receive additional credits at a reasonable cost.  For more information on this, please download our New ACCA Collaboration Announcement - Earn Education Credits with NOVA’ PDF (53kb).

ACCA does have a relationship with the University of London and for those members who have received their ACCA within five years, you will be able to sit the online UoL MSc program. This is a new venture and the number of credit hours you can gain from it varies on a case by case basis.

To learn more, visit our qualifications section.

For more information on state requirements to sit the CPA, please contact the State Board of Accountancy for which you would like more information. AICPA has created a website to learn more about the individual state board’s requirements. Visit their website.

Certified Management Accountant Exam (CMA)

Awarding body: Institute of Management Accountants (IMA)

IMA is the most popular financial management accounting qualification in the USA. IMA and ACCA have a strong partnership and IMA has waived all education requirements for those ACCA member in good standing interested in sitting their exam. 

For more information:

Certified Forensic Accountant Exam (CRFAC)

Awarding body: American Board of Forensic Accounting (ABFA)

ABFA oversees the popular CRFAC exam which is a fully comprehensive program covering forensic accounting, fraud, litigation services, cyber security issues, and valuations.

ABFA is a local partner of ACCA and provides a discount to ACCA members.  More details can be found on the ABFA website.

Certified Internal Auditor (CIA)

Awarding body: Institute of Internal Auditors (IIA)

The IIA is the internal audit profession's global voice, recognized authority, acknowledged leader, chief advocate, and principal educator. Generally, members work in internal auditing, risk management, governance, internal control, information technology audit, education, and security.

ACCA and IIA occasionally offer the opportunity for ACCA members to sit one challenge exam in order to earn the CIA.

Access more information on the qualification.