Students' FAQs on the Oxford Brookes Degree

BSc 2026 completion deadline

The opportunity to complete the BSc (Hons) degree in Applied Accounting will close in May 2026. More information can be found on our completion deadlines page.

View information on completion deadlines 

For Frequently Asked Questions relating to the closure of the programme, please visit Oxford Brookes University's FAQs document 

What do I need to do to be awarded the BSc degree?

To be awarded the Oxford Brookes BSc (Hons) in Applied Accounting you must:

  • Have passed the three ACCA Applied Skills examinations Financial Reporting (was F7), Audit and Assurance (was F8) and Financial Management (was F9).
  • Have passed, or gained exemption from, the other six papers at the Knowledge Level and Skills Level. Conditional exemptions are not acceptable.
  • Have completed the ACCA Ethics and Professional Skills module (or the previous Professional Ethics module)
  • Be up-to-date with the payment of your ACCA subscription fees. 
  • Demonstrate currency of knowledge by either:
    - passing your RAP within 10 years of the earliest of: the date of your first ACCA examination pass, or the date of your first ACCA exemption being granted.
    - passing 3 ACCA (Applied Skills or Strategic Professional) examinations in the 5 year period before submitting and passing your RAP.

ACCA Members who passed their ACCA examinations after 2000, may be eligible.  Please contact for more information.

To submit the Research and Analysis Project in the May and November submission periods, please refer to RAP submission dates

Find further information about the Oxford Brookes University BSc degree.

Why am I not eligible for the Oxford Brookes degree programme?

You completed your ACCA studies before the programme was introduced (in 2000)

You hold exemptions from Financial Reporting (FR), Audit and Assurance (AA) or Financial Management (FM), or earlier equivalents.  It is possible to forfeit exemptions but you are required to pass the examination.  Once you have forfeited your exemptions, you cannot reverse this decision.

You hold conditional exemptions.

You cannot demonstrate currency of knowledge.  This means it is more than 10 years from your first examination pass or exemption being granted, and you have not passed 3 ACCA examinations (at Applied Skills or Strategic Professional level) in the 5 years before submission of your RAP.

Please contact for more information about eligibility.

Can I apply for Oxford Brookes after I have registered?

Students can opt in to the Oxford Brookes BSc degree after they have registered.

How can I find out more about the Oxford Brookes degree?

You can tick the box on your myACCA. This is a marketing preference and you will receive emails about the OBU degree.

How will I be able to work out my Oxford Brookes degree classification?

The BSc degree classification will be based on both:

  • the ACCA average mark determined from the exam marks in the Applied Skills exams
  • the grade achieved for the Research and Analysis Project.

The ACCA average mark will be calculated by taking the numerical average of the marks achieved in the Applied Skills exams that you have sat and passed.

Where the calculated average mark is not a whole number, the calculated average will be rounded up or down accordingly. If you have been given an exemption from any of the Corporate and Business Law (LW), Performance Mangement (PM) or Taxation (TX) exams, no mark is available and so will not be included in the calculation of the ACCA average mark.

The class of degree for each combination of ACCA average mark and Research and Analysis Project grade is shown below.

Class of Degree

ACCA average markFirstUpper SecondLower SecondThird
68 or moreA, B, C---
67A, BC--

B, C

60-65-A, B, C--

A, B


B, C

54-57--A, B, C-
53--A, BC
50-52---A, B, C